Julep Helena – On Wednesdays We Wear Pink

Happy Hump day!!   Midway through the week and it’s time for my random weekly tribute to Mean Girls with an ‘On Wednesdays We Wear Pink’ post.  Since Pink is not my usual color of choice, this will enable me to more fully utilize my many pink polishes.  Today in addition to a pink polish, I am also using a Pink Floyd themed glitter topper and a holographic polish to add to the look.  I hope you all like it.

First the base polish is Helena from Julep. My photos don’t capture it, but this pink has a strong blue undertone. It’s hard to explain, but as I pulled the polish wand from the bottle I picked up a strong blue-ish tint.  I had heard of colors (often reds) having a blue tone to them, but didn’t exactly understand how that could be until now. Very interesting!  This color is a very bright pink and is almost opaque with two coats as I am showing in these photos.  The first is with a photo flash and the second indirect sunlight. You can see that the flash brings out a lot more of the pink punch this pretty polish packs.  😉

 

Julep_Helena_Flash_01_LeslieLovesNails

Helena from Julep

 

Next I decided to add a little bit of bling to this simple manicure. Since it’s a pink manicure, I figured what better to include than one of Different dimensions Pink Floyd-themed polishes from the Echoes Collection.  I selected Time and decided to do some glitter-fying in the form of a 3:2 manicure (stole the appropriate phrase and style from Amie, check out one of hers here).  

For the second half of the mani, I added some chevron stripes of Beyond by Color Club using some nail guides I bought from Amazon.  It was kind of a pain to get some sparkle from the glitter and a good view of the holographic goodness at the same time, but the best I got is shown below.  Believe it or not, I even managed to get an adequate macro shot of this mani!  It’s my goal to get my S4 to take great macro shots like the ones I see all over the interwebs.

 

Different Dimension Time and Color Club Beyond over Julep Helena

Different Dimension Time and Color Club Beyond over Julep Helena

Macro of Different Dimension Time over Julep Helena

 

So, how do you like this manicure?  If you haven’t already, you should check out Missi Barry’s DIFFERENT dimension polish shop on Etsy here.  I have this entire collection and many of her other polishes and love them all.  It’s really worth a peek if you want to try a new, quality indie polish.  She has glitters, holos and cremes, all kinds of polish to satisfy everyone’s lacquer lust!  As always, thank you so much for stopping by.  Have a great rest of the week!  

 

Leslie

4 thoughts on “Julep Helena – On Wednesdays We Wear Pink

Leave a Reply

