Twinkie Nail Art Challenge Day 1: Throwback Mani

Happy Friday, everybody!  The weekend is upon us as is the start of the Twinkie Nail Art challenge.  This is a one manicure per week challenge, on Fridays during August, which is more my speed as far as these things go.  I’ve only done one challenge before, and that was a 5 day one which seemed to work OK. this challenge is being hosted by Polished by Beckie and Spilled Milk Nails.  Thank you, ladies, for giving me a chance to force myself to practice nail art LOL.  I am excited to do my actual first ever gradient for this challenge, stay tuned to the blog to witness that next week!  First, however, is today’s challenge: the Throwback mani.

#twinkienailartchallenge

 

First, here are the polishes, tools and stamping plates I used for this manicure.

  • Models Own Artistix Nail Art Pen in Pastel Yellow
  • Models Own Artistix Nail Art Pen in Pastel Pink
  • Color Club Wild Cactus
  • OPI Alpine Snow
  • Color Club Beyond
  • Cult Nails Nakizzle Shizzle
  • Stamping Plates
    • BM-320
    • FUN 3

#twinkienailartchallenge Colors

#TwinkieNailArtChallenge

Plate FUN 3

 

 As soon as I saw ‘throwback’, I thought of the hippie days of the 1960s and 1970s and the philosophy of “Peace, Love and Happiness”.  I toyed with a couple ideas and attempts before finalizing on this one.  It’s a bit of a literal expression of this theme, and I used some stamping and some very rough drawing with my new nail art pens.  Since in addition to these sentiments there was also a little something else making some in society peaceful and happy at this time in our country’s history, I decided to include the pot leaf accent nails ^_^.  I started with bases of Color Club’s Beyond and OPI’s Alpine Snow.  Then I stamped the peace sign with Cult Nails’ Nakizzle Shizzle and the pot leaf accents with Color Club’s Wild Cactus.  Finally, I hand drew (Duh LOL) the hearts, smiley face and ill-placed dots with my Models Own Artistix nail art pens.  These things are REALLY cool, they draw/dot/stripe and I will be buying more colors.  A layer of top coat and voila!  That’s all she wrote.  

#TwinkieNailArtChallenge

 

 I had a lot of fun doing this mani.  Don’t forget to search #TwinkieNailArtChallenge on social media to see all the nail art shared this month.  Hope you liked my take on the ‘throwback’ theme.  Thanks for stopping by, as always, and have a great weekend!!  🙂

Leslie

One thought on “Twinkie Nail Art Challenge Day 1: Throwback Mani

Leave a Reply

