Twinkie Nail Art Challenge Day 2: Gradient

Happy Friday, folks!!  Today’s post will be short and sweet.  The second prompt for the August challenge sponsored by @spilledmilknails and @polishedbybeckie is a gradient, which I’ve never done before.  Of course my nails would have to be kind of short when I tried it, which is what I believe lead to my lacklustre results.  Oh well, practice makes perfect, right??  🙂

#twinkienailartchallenge

I used Cult Nails Kiss and Party Time for this manicure.  Since I wasn’t so sure about the whole gradient thing, I chose to use only two colors.  I did use my Dance Legend Peel-off base as an ‘insurance policy’ around my nail to help with clean up. It worked remarkably well!   Here is my gradient manicure and I will share my lessons learned after the pic. 

Twinkie Nail Art Challenge Day 2 - Gradient

 

First, I need to use a nude base for future gradients since my nails are a bit wonky and clearly it was difficult for me to get to all sides of my actual nail with the sponge as evidenced by the white base I used poking out all over the place. 

Second, since my nails are a bit short I need to shrink the size of the polish stripes used to make the gradient as I think this would have made the look a bit more smooth. 

I hope you like my mani.  Feel free to leave any comments or suggestions on doing gradients, as I clearly need some guidance in this department lol.  Make sure to search social media with the hashtag #TwinkieNailArtChallenge to see the other posts for this week’s challenge.  I can’t wait to see everyone’s work.  

Have a great weekend, everybody!!  🙂

 

Leslie

Leave a Reply

