A Box, Indied August 2015 – All Hail Holo!

Hello polish lovers! Today on the blog I am showcasing the beautiful polishes in August 2015’s A Box, Indied. This month’s theme is “All Hail Holo”, and the chosen items for this month’s box do not disappoint in this respect. There is also a great array of colors, some darker some brighter, that I am very happy to see. Now let’s take a look at what’s inside the box……

** All polishes are shown with China Glaze Strong Adhesion Base and Zoya Armor topcoat **

Contrary Polish – When In Rome

When in Rome… is a beauty! I was surprised to see this maker in a holo box as they are  primarily known for their shimmery polishes. This is a lovely polish and I look forward to more holographic an shimmery shades from this maker. It’s a greyish-purple jelly-like holographic shade. I say jelly-like as it is a bit sheer, what I show here is 2 coats. It’s also got a slight pink shimmer that I couldn’t really capture in my photos, sadly. Photos are taken under indoor lighting.

Contrary Polish ~ When In Rome - A Box, Indied August 2015

Contrary Polish ~ When In Rome - A Box, Indied August 2015

Contrary Polish ~ When In Rome - A Box, Indied August 2015

 

Glisten & Glow – Veni, Vidi, Vici

This slightly magenta shade of pink called Veni, Vidi, Vici boasts quite a bang of holographic glow. As with previous holographic polishes from this maker, it’s a highly pigmented polish. I was able to get full opacity with 2 coats. The formula is easy to apply and not at all sheer. Normally, I am not crazy about pink polishes but this (and several others that I’ve recently gotten in collections/boxes) have really been catching and keeping my eye! 

Glisten & Glow - Veni, Vidi Vici

Glisten and Glow - Veni, Vidi Vici

Glisten and Glow - Veni, Vidi Vici

 

Cupcake Polish – Et Tu, Brute?

Et Tu, Brute? is another beautifully holographic polish with amazing color. It’s a very bright blue bombshell of a polish. Another highly pigmented, easy to apply formula that could have been a one-coater given an even application, 2 coats shown. I’ve only got a handful of Cupcake Polishes, but I have to say that they are all beautiful and rich in color. They are quickly moving up my favorite-holographic-polish-makers list. 

Cupcake Polish - Et Tu, Brute?

Cupcake Polish - Et Tu, Brute?

Cupcake Polish - Et Tu, Brute?

 

Colors by Llarowe – As Rome Burned

As Rome Burned is a vibrant red with both a holographic sparkle which I couldn’t seem to capture very well, either indoors and out in full sunshine (last photo, grrrrr) and a bright red glittery-shimmer. Red is one of my favorite colors and this polish combines my love of red, holo and amazing sparkle. It has a bit of a ‘sparkling gem’  or ‘glowing ember’ shine and I absolutely love it. Two coats shown.

ABI_Colors_by_Llarowe_As_Rome_Burns_01_LeslieLovesNails

ABI_Colors_by_Llarowe_As_Rome_Burns_02_LeslieLovesNails

ABI_Colors_by_Llarowe_As_Rome_Burns_03_LeslieLovesNails

 

Different Dimension – Imperium Sine Fine (an empire without an end)

Last, but certainly not least, is Imperium Sine Fine (an empire without an end) from Different Dimension. I think Different Dimension was one of the first indie polishes I bought back in 2012, so they will always have a special place in my heart. Whether it’s a multichrome, a glitter, a holo or a creme, I love them all. With good reason, too, her polishes have a consistently good formula, beautiful and creative colors and she offers excellent customer service. But I digress, on to the polish. This deep green packs a holographic punch and was easy to apply. This color brings to mind both Christmas time and Eagles football! Win-win! Two coats are shown here. 

Different Dimension Imperium Sine Fine

Different Dimension Imperium Sine Fine

 

Thanks for stopping by and indulging me sharing my love of polish with the interwebz. Below are links to each polish maker’s shop and social media accounts. All of them make wonderful products, so give ’em some love! Have a great weekend!! 

 

Contrary Polish on facebook and online at www.ContraryPolish.com

Glisten & Glow on facebook , Twitter, Instagram and their Big Cartel store

Cupcake Polish on facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Colors by Llarowe on facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Different dimension on facebook, Twitter and her Big Cartel store

 

 

 

Leslie

 

Leave a Reply

